Peyton Manning Leads The NFL Hall Of Fame 2021 Class

Peyton Manning will go down as one of the greatest quarterbacks the NFL has ever seen. The Indianapolis Colts and Denver Broncos legend looks set to continue his storied career as he leads the NFL Hall of Fame 2021 class.

Peyton Manning Leads The NFL Hall Of Fame 2021 Class

A Guaranteed Spot?

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced its nominees for modern-era players recently, and Peyton Manning looks like being the first name on the ballot for most. The quarterback is regarded as an all-time great, winning two Super Bowls, once with the Colts and the other with the Broncos.

This is Manning’s first year of eligibility, and there doesn’t seem to be any doubts about his place among the greats.

To be considered for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, a player cannot have participated as an active member for at least five consecutive seasons. Amazingly, it has already been that long since we last saw Manning do his thing on the gridiron.

Peyton Manning Leads The NFL Hall Of Fame 2021 Class

Hall Of Fame Candidates

There is a fresh batch of first-year eligibles for the 2021 Pro Football Hall of Fame, and Manning is the only quarterback on the list. Other notable players in consideration for the class of 2021 include nine-time Pro Bowler and former Super Bowl champ, Charles Woodson. There is also the six-time Pro Bowl wide receiver, Calvin Johnson, among those eligible, while sack artist Jared Allen is also on the list.

While Manning probably heads straight into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in his first year of eligibility, some are still waiting their turn. Former NFL stars like Drew Bledsoe, Jamal Lewis, Hines Ward, and Joey Porter are all hoping to join the class of 2021.

There are 130 modern-era Pro Football Hall of Fame candidates, these will be reduced to 25 finalists in November, before shrinking to 15 finalists in January. The new class of 2021 will be announced the night before Super Bowl LV.